May Magic

For May Magic, we here at the WOTI site are answering the question, “If you could have one magical ability, what would it be?”

So many possibilities, it’s difficult to choose.

Initially, I thought time travel would be fun. Experience history first hand. Change some unfortunate events. But my son informed me I can’t change history, quoting the Destiny Trap. Apparently my twelve year old understands more about time travel than I do. At any rate, given the paradox potential, it seems a futile ability.

Invisibility appealed to me. How handy would it be if I could disappear at will? Avoid annoying people, stay in my PJs all day, scare the pee-diddle out of friends and neighbors. Except if the government found out about it, I’d probably end up having to do some kind of spy work. Sounds exciting, but I really don’t want to know the ins and outs of terrorist cells and the like. I’d lose too much sleep.

But the need for sleep…that gave me the idea for my ideal magical ability. I’d like to be able to freeze time. While everyone else stands still, I could take a cat nap here and there. I’d have time to work out, to clean, to finish my novels, learn a new language, maybe even cure cancer, who knows? Limitless time would mean limitless possibilities.

The great thing about exercises like this is how it can really get the creative juices flowing. I’m taking my frozen time power and writing a short story around it. Stay tuned for more of the WOTI authors’ thoughts on magic, and if it gets your creative juices going, leave a comment and share what your magical power would be!

out_of_the_darkness_300sigAudra

 

2 Comments

Filed under Audra's World

2 responses to “May Magic

  1. If I were to choose what magical ability to have I’d have chosen healing. But…in most fantasy books, magical healers are unable to heal themselves. I think it’s unfair. I want to be able to heal others but myself too. The parma corporations would definitely want to get rid of such a healer – think of the possibilities for stories.

  2. That would be an awesome ability & idea for a story…

Leave a Reply

