Writing vs. Running

japix
By J.A. Garland
      You may not believe it, but writing is a lot like running. At least, it is for me. Some days I wake up with a smile on my face, put on my running clothes and am ready to go ‘get some!’ Other days I wake up, shove on my fuzzy slippers and can barely stagger to the coffee pot.
      Sure, I concede, writing isn’t exactly physical in nature, but like running, writing requires repetition for excellence. To get up those hills without breaking stride takes perseverance and dedication. Sitting down and writing chapter after chapter takes commitment and devotion. Like you, some days I fall happily into the productive writer mentality with clever words dripping off my fingertips. Other days I agonize over each. And. Every. Word.
      The important thing is: no matter how hard the struggle, either to get out the door and run, or to plant our booties in a chair and write, is that we don’t give up. We keep going over each and every speed bump. We continue to push up that hill, remembering there is a downhill ‘breather’ on the other side. We type with carefree abandon, letting the spirit of the characters and their worlds carry us. Knowing we can edit and polish later.
      Being a dedicated runner and writer for as long as I can remember, I’ll pass this on… You’d be amazed at how many times the BEST run and the BEST chapter came after the hardest time getting inspired or focusing. So, to all you writers out there keep on plugging away. To all you runners out there, keep moving. And to all you readers out there, thank you for giving us motivation!
1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Writing vs. Running

Leave a Reply

